破产与重组

概览

我们的破产与重组业务为客户提供有关香港破产领域的法律服务,协助客户制定并实施重组计划。

在破产业务方面,我们就企业破产、强制清盘、自愿清盘、破产与清盘程序、清盘人及接管人的任命与职权,以及担保与债务契约的执行提供法律咨询服务。

在重组业务方面,我们就企业拯救与企业周转提供法律服务,包括债务重组、企业重组、 重组安排计划、合同债务解决方案、执行或出售担保以及临时清盘。

我们的客户涵盖了世界500强企业、香港及海外主要金融与商品交易所的经营者和参与者、银行、私募基金对冲基金、、公司及私人企业。我们代表放贷人、债券持有人、债权人(有担保或无担保)、借款人、债务人、股东与董事,并协助他们应对企业破产领域中复杂的法律规则。

我们的业务范围涵盖:

  • 强制清盘,包括公司的清盘程序、清盘开始后的财产处置与申请确认处置的法庭命令、清盘人与临时清盘人的任命及权责、审查委员会的组成、作用与职权、债权人会议的开展、对公司董事的讯问、清盘股息的分配、债权人与股东的权利、清盘人职务的免除、公司解散与注销以及恢复被解散的公司

  • 自愿清盘,包括公司股东的自愿清盘以及公司债权人的自愿清盘

  • 担保的执行,包括担保权益的性质、有效性与可执行性、担保持有人的优先权、可代表担保债权人执行担保的接管人的任命、接管人的权责、担保资产的出售与资产分拆

  • 董事的职权与法律责任,包括 破产事务中董事的忠实义务、有关不公平优惠与欺诈营商的规定取消董事资格的法院命令、以及起诉触犯《公司条例》《公司(清盘及杂项条文)条例》下破产相关罪行的董事及高管

  • 公司重组,包括通过自愿谈判或法院批准的方案进行债务重组债务重组 、寻求重组安排计划的程序,债权人类别组成的要求、《公司条例》下的法院认许,以及采取临时清盘程序以实现债务暂缓与债务重组

  • 不良资产管理,包括协助对冲基金及私募基金应对投资组合中存在的不良资产

我们的团队对交易与清算系统、金融机构以及金融基础设施中出现的破产问题具有特别经验。我们曾多次就有关《金融机构(处置机制)条例》的问题提供法律意见。

此外,我们曾代表客户参与了香港证监会以及香港地区立法会的讨论,以制定针对金融市场基础设施的法定破产保护。

经历

为2.4亿美元债务与企业重组计划及投资组合的退出提供法律意见

奖项

《国际金融法律评论》(IFLR1000)

企业并购

“一流业务”

《国际金融法律评论》(IFLR1000)

企业并购

“积极评价”

《国际金融法律评论》(IFLR1000)

私募股权

“一流业务”

《国际金融法律评论》(IFLR1000)

私募股权

“积极评价”

《亚洲法律概况》 (Asialaw Profiles)

企业并购

“一流业务”

《亚洲法律概况》 (Asialaw Profiles)

企业并购

“推荐业务”

《亚洲法律概况》 (Asialaw Profiles)

公司

“一流业务”

《亚洲法律概况》 (Asialaw Profiles)

公司

“推荐业务”

《亚洲法律概况》 (Asialaw Profiles)

私募股权

“一流业务”

 

法律研究

Read Article>
Read Article>
Read Article>

Insolvency & Restructuring

Overview

Through our Insolvency and Restructuring practice, we advise on Hong Kong insolvency laws and assist clients in developing and implementing restructuring plans.

On the insolvency side, our lawyers advise on corporate bankruptcy, compulsory liquidation, voluntary winding up, insolvency proceedings and the liquidation process, the appointment and powers of liquidators and receivers, as well as the enforcement of security and debt covenants.

On the restructuring side, our restructuring team advises on corporate rescues and corporate turnarounds, including debt restructuring, company restructuring, schemes of arrangement, contractual workouts, the enforcement and sale of security and provisional liquidation.

Our clients have included Fortune Global 1000 companies, operators and participants of leading financial and commodities exchanges in Hong Kong and abroad, banks, private equity, hedge funds, corporations and private businesses. We represent lenders, bond and debenture holders, creditors (both secured and unsecured), borrowers, debtors, shareholders and directors and assist them in navigating the complexities of Hong Kong’s insolvency laws.

Our work includes advising on the following:

  • Compulsory liquidation, including the procedures for winding up a company, the disposition of property after the commencement of winding-up and applications for validation orders, the appointment, powers and duties of liquidators and provisional liquidators, the composition, role and powers of a committee of inspection, the conduct of creditor meetings and examinations of directors, the distribution of liquidation dividends, the rights of creditors and contributories (shareholders), the release of liquidators, the dissolution and de-registration of companies and the re-instatement of dissolved companies

  • Voluntary liquidation, including members’ voluntary winding-up and creditors’ voluntary winding-up

  • Enforcement of security, including the nature, validity and enforceability of security interests, the priority of security holders, the appointment, powers and duties of receivers in enforcing security on behalf of a secured creditor, the sale of secured assets and asset hive-offs

  • Directors’ duties & liabilities, including fiduciary duties in the insolvency zone, unfair preference and fraudulent trading, director disqualification, and prosecution of directors and officers for insolvency related offences under the Companies Ordinance (“CO”) and the Companies (Winding Up and Miscellaneous Provisions) Ordinance (“CWUMPO”)

  • Corporate restructuring & reorganization, including debt restructuring through voluntary negotiated arrangements or court sanctioned schemes of arrangement, the procedures for pursuing a scheme of arrangement, the requirements for class constitution, approvals and court sanction under the CO, and the possible deployment of a provisional liquidation to create a debt moratorium to pursue a debt restructuring

  • Distressed investment management, including the possible options available to hedge funds and private equity funds in managing investments in distressed portfolio companies

Our insolvency and restructuring team has particular experience advising on insolvency issues arising in the context of trading and clearing systems, financial institutions and financial infrastructure. We have advised extensively on the Financial Institutions (Resolutions) Ordinance (“FIRO”).

In addition, we have been involved on behalf of clients in discussions with the Securities and Futures Commission (“SFC”) and the Legislative Council (“LegCo”) to shape statutory insolvency protections for financial market infrastructure.

Experience

Lead counsel to a bank on a US$240mn debt restructuring, corporate restructuring and sale of a portfolio investment

Awards

IFLR 1000

Mergers and Acquisitions

Leading Practice

IFLR 1000

Mergers and Acquisitions

"Positively Ranked"

IFLR 1000

Private Equity

Leading Practice

IFLR 1000

Private Equity

"Positively Ranked"

Asialaw Profiles

Mergers and Acquisitions

Leading Practice

Asialaw Profiles

Mergers and Acquisitions

"Recommended"

Asialaw Profiles

Corporate

Leading Practice

Asialaw Profiles

Corporate

"Recommended"

Asialaw Profiles

Private Equity

Leading Practice

 

Insights

Read Article>
Read Article>
Read Article>