私募基金

概览

我们的私募基金业务与并购业务获得了国际法律评级机构《国际金融法律评论》(IFLR1000) 与The Legal 500的高度认可。15年来,我们一直在香港金融监管领域为私募基金及其发起人提供法律咨询服务。从初创机构到成熟的私募基金,我们的客户管理着超过600亿美元的资产。

我们的业务范围涵盖:

  • 私募基金的设立,包括帮助私募基金及其发起人或普通合伙人选择适合设立基金的法域及基金的类型(例如是开曼群岛的有限合伙基金,还是香港的有限合伙基金),并就香港投资机构的建立、资金的筹集与部署、投资组合管理及退出机制提供法律意见。

  • 新投资者的加入,包括协助私募基金的发起人准备有限合伙协议、认购协议、私人配售备忘录以及其它基金文件,协助私募基金的有限责任合伙人审查有限合伙协议、私人配售备忘录,协商并准备附加条款单,以及在投资前进行尽职调查。

  • 私募基金的税务问题,包括帮助普通合伙人与有限责任合伙人合理避税(例如在获得投资回报、附带权益回报与支付管理费的过程中合理避税)

  • 私募基金的投资,包括就投资组合、上市前的结构,以及与有限责任合伙人的共同投资问题提供法律意见,并帮助基金发起人协商交易结构、投资条款以及准备交易文件(例如意向书、股权买卖协议、股东协议、可转换债券契据、贷款协议、用于设立固定与浮动抵押、按揭或质押的担保协议、购股权协议与高管的雇佣协议)

经历

助力某美国基金经理对香港私募房地产基金经理的投资与联合经营

奖项

钱伯斯法律评级机构 (Chambers and Partners)

投资基金

“一流业务”

钱伯斯法律评级机构 (Chambers and Partners)

投资基金

“杰出个人”

钱伯斯法律评级机构 (Chambers and Partners)

投资基金

“杰出律师 ”

《国际金融法律评论》(IFLR1000)

企业并购

“一流业务 ”

《国际金融法律评论》(IFLR1000)

企业并购

“积极评价”

《国际金融法律评论》(IFLR1000)

私募股权

“一流业务”

《国际金融法律评论》(IFLR1000)

私募股权

“积极评价”

Legal 500

投资基金

“推荐业务”

《亚洲法律概况》 (Asialaw Profiles)

企业并购

“一流业务”

《亚洲法律概况》 (Asialaw Profiles)

企业并购

“推荐业务”

《亚洲法律概况》 (Asialaw Profiles)

公司

“一流业务”

《亚洲法律概况》 (Asialaw Profiles)

公司

“推荐业务”

《亚洲法律概况》 (Asialaw Profiles)

私募股权

“一流业务 ”

 

法律研究

金融服务业监管

In these FAQs on SFC License Type 9, we provide guidance on SFC asset management regulation

Read Article>
Read Article>
Read Article>

Private Equity

Overview

Our Private Equity practice has been recognized internationally by the International Financial Law Review 1000 (IFLR1000) and the Legal 500 as a market leading practice together with our Mergers and Acquisitions practice. We have been advising private equity funds and their sponsors on Hong Kong regulatory requirements for over 15 years. Our clients have ranged from start-ups to established private equity firms with over US$60 billion of assets under management.

Our work includes advising on the following:

  • Private equity fund formation, including helping private equity firms and sponsors, or general partners (“GPs”), in Hong Kong on the selection of jurisdiction and type of fund vehicle, whether a Cayman limited partnership, a Hong Kong limited partnership fund structure or otherwise, and advising on the establishment of investment operations in Hong Kong, the raising of capital, the deployment of capital, ongoing portfolio management and exit strategies

  • Onboarding of private equity investors, including assisting both private equity sponsors and limited partner (“LP”) investors, the former in preparing limited partnership agreements (“LPAs”), subscription agreements, private placement memoranda (“PPMs”) and other offering documents, and on the latter in the review of LPAs and PPMs, the negotiation of side letters and the conduct of due diligence ahead of any possible commitment to the private equity fund

  • Taxation of private equity funds, including tax planning advice to minimize HK tax on the GP & LPs and upstream distributions, management fees and carried interest

  • Private equity investments, including advising clients in respect of portfolio investments, pre-IPO structure as well as co-investments with LPs and helping sponsors negotiate deal structure and terms of investments and prepare transactional documents, including letters of intent (“LOIs”), sale and purchase agreements (“SPAs”), shareholder agreements ("SHAs"), convertible bond (“CB”) deeds and instruments, loan agreements, security documentation for the creation of fixed charges, floating charges, mortgages and other security interests, shareholder agreements, option agreements and key executive employment agreements

Experience

Multi-Million Dollar Hong Kong Litigation over Breach of Contract

Lead counsel to a private equity backed portfolio company valued at US$2 billion in a multi-million dollar lawsuit against a counterparty distributor for breach of a major contract with a China based NASDAQ listed company.

US$60mn Capital Raise for China Focused Consumer Goods and Services Company

Lead counsel to private fund manager with over US$700 million of assets under management in connection with a US$60 million venture capital investment into a consumer goods and services company.

Investment and Private Equity Real Estate Joint Venture

Co-counsel to US private funds manager on an investment into a Hong Kong private equity real estate fund manager with US$450 million of assets under management.

US$240mn Debt Restructuring and Exit of Portfolio Investment

Lead counsel to bank in connection with the restructuring of a distressed US$240 million investment into a Hong Kong based joint venture and the sale of its interest in that joint venture.

Awards

Chambers and Partners

Investment Funds

Leading Practice

2011

Chambers and Partners

Investment Funds

Leading Individual

2016

Chambers and Partners

Investment Funds

Leading Lawyer

2019

IFLR 1000

Mergers and Acquisitions

Leading Practice

2021

IFLR 1000

Mergers and Acquisitions

"Positively Ranked"

2018

IFLR 1000

Private Equity

Leading Practice

2021

IFLR 1000

Private Equity

"Positively Ranked"

2018

Legal 500

Investment Funds

“Recommended Practice”

 

Asialaw Profiles

Mergers and Acquisitions

Leading Practice

2017;

Asialaw Profiles

Mergers and Acquisitions

"Recommended"

2018

Asialaw Profiles

Corporate

Leading Practice

2017

Asialaw Profiles

Corporate

"Recommended"

2018

Asialaw Profiles

Private Equity

Leading Practice

2016

 

Insights

Read Article>
Read Article>
Read Article>