分布式分类帐技术与金融科技

概览

我们的分布式分类帐技术与金融科技业务是我们 金融服务监管业务的重要组成部分。一直以来,我们的金融服务监管业务被包括《国际金融法律评论》(IFLR1000)、The Legal 500、钱伯斯 (Chambers and Partners)、《亚洲法律概况》 (Asialaw Profiles) 在内的多家国际法律评级机构评定为一流推荐业务。我们的律师也一贯被形容为该领域的“领军人物”以及“被高度评价的律师”。

我们的律师在这一领域拥有丰富经验。从初创机构到世界500强企业,我们的客户包括银行保险公司、财富经理、经纪人与交易员证券与金融衍生品交易平台与结算系统、加密货币交易所、分布式分类帐技术平台,以及基于金融技术的操作与技术企业孵化器。

我们曾就下列复杂事项提供法律意见:

  • 分布式分类帐技术交易与虚拟资产,包括数字货币首次公开发行,比特币、以太币等加密货币的投资、数字资产的投资(例如证券型通证、用途型通证),以及利用区块链技术及其它去中心化数据结构进行的分布式分类帐技术交易

  • 金融科技公司及运营,包括用于证券交易与结算、期权及金融衍生品、货物与服务提供的 电子交易与移动技术平台,其目的是为了方便交易与支付,销售投资产品,提供投资建议以及支持投资产品销售团队

  • 合规问题,包括遵守《证券及期货条例》、《银行业条例》、《支付系统及储值支付工具条例》、《打击洗钱及恐怖分子资金筹集条例》、《联合国制裁条例》、《放债人条例》以及《个人资料(私隐)条例》

  • 风险管理,包括满足香港证监会、香港金融管理局与其它机构的监管规定及期待(例如管控 洗钱 (“ML”)风险及其它与虚拟资产交易与运营平台相关联的风险)

金融科技的新颖性带来了法律与监管上的不确定性,对于如何适用现有的法律与监管规定,我们并没有太多司法判例或市场先例可作指引。但是,受益于我们对金融服务监管及金融科技发展趋势广泛而深入的理解,以及我们在与拥有尖端技术的金融市场基础设施参与者共事中所获得的的丰富执业经验,我们有能力帮助客户应对日益复杂的监管挑战。

经历

为某全球性电子支付服务商执行联合国经济制裁决议提供法律意见

奖项

钱伯斯法律评级机构 (Chambers and Partners)

金融服务业监管

“一流业务”

钱伯斯法律评级机构 (Chambers and Partners)

金融服务业监管

“杰出个人”

钱伯斯法律评级机构 (Chambers and Partners)

金融服务业监管

“杰出律师”

钱伯斯法律评级机构 (Chambers and Partners)

金融服务业监管

“被认可律师”

《国际金融法律评论》(IFLR1000)

金融服务业监管

“积极评价”

《国际金融法律评论》(IFLR1000)

金融服务业监管

“被认可律师”

Legal 500

金融服务业监管

“杰出个人”

Legal 500

金融服务业监管

“推荐业务”

《亚洲法律概况》 (Asialaw Profiles)

公司

“一流业务”

《亚洲法律概况》 (Asialaw Profiles)

公司

“推荐业务”

《亚洲法律概况》 (Asialaw Profiles)

金融服务业监管

“一流业务 ”

《亚洲法律概况》 (Asialaw Profiles)

金融服务业监管

“杰出业务 ”

《亚洲法律概况》 (Asialaw Profiles)

金融服务业监管

“领军人物 ”

《亚洲法律概况》 (Asialaw Profiles)

金融服务业监管

“杰出律师 ”

 

法律研究

Read Article>

DLT and Fintech

Overview

Our DLT & FinTech practice is a part of our market leading practice in Hong Kong financial services regulation, for which we have been consistently recognized by independent editorial publications, including the International Financial Law Review 1000 (ILFR1000), the Legal 500, Chambers and Partners and Asialaw Profiles, and for which our lawyers have been consistently recognized as “leading”, “highly regarded”, “well regarded” and “market-leading” lawyers.

Our corporate and regulatory lawyers have extensive experience advising a wide range of clients, from start-ups to Fortune Global 1000 companies, including banks, insurance companies, asset managers, brokers and dealers, securities and derivatives trading platforms and clearing systems, cryptocurrency exchanges, distributed-ledger technology (“DLT”) platforms, financial technology (“FinTech”) based operations and technology business incubators.

We have advised on novel and complex issues involving the following:

  • DLT trading & virtual assets, including initial coin offerings (“ICOs”), investments in bitcoin ethereum and other cryptocurrencies, investments in digital assets including security tokens, utility tokens and other virtual assets, and DLT based transactions using blockchain technology and other decentralised data structures

  • FinTech companies & operations, including electronic trading and mobile technology platforms for the trading and clearing of securities, futures and derivatives, the provision of goods and services to facilitate transactions and settle payment, the sale of investment products, the provision of investment advice and the support of investment product sales teams

  • Compliance with statutory requirements, including compliance with applicable laws and regulations, including the Securities and Futures Ordinance (“SFO”), the Banking Ordinance (“BO”), the Payment Systems and Stored Value Facilities Ordinance (“PSSVFO”), the Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing Ordinance (“AMLO”),the United Nations Sanctions Ordinance (“UNSO”), the Money Lenders Ordinance (“MLO”) and the Personal Data (Privacy) Ordinance (“PDPO”)

  • Risk management, including risk management and other standards and expectations set out by the Hong Kong Monetary Authority (“HKMA”) and the Securities and Futures Commission (“SFC”) and other Hong Kong regulators, including, including in respect of managing money laundering (“ML”) risks and risks associated with virtual asset trading and the operation of relevant platforms and exchanges

As the nature of Fintech raises a wide range of novel legal and regulatory uncertainties, and there are few or no judicial or market precedents to guide the application of existing laws and regulations to the new methods of doing business, by leveraging our broad and deep understanding of financial regulatory issues and Fintech trends and our extensive experience working with financial market infrastructure players with cutting-edge technology, we are well positioned to help clients navigate the increasingly complicated landscape at the intersection of technology and regulation.

Experience

Hong Kong counsel to global payments provider handling over US$700 billion of payments annually in respect of compliance with economic sanctions

Awards

Chambers and Partners

Financial Services Regulatory

Leading Practice

Chambers and Partners

Financial Services Regulatory

Leading Individual

Chambers and Partners

Financial Services Regulatory

Leading Lawyer

Chambers and Partners

Financial Services Regulatory

Well Regarded Lawyer

IFLR 1000

Financial Services Regulatory

"Positively Ranked"

IFLR 1000

Financial Services Regulatory

Highly Regarded Lawyer

Legal 500

Financial Services Regulatory

Leading Individual

Legal 500

Financial Services Regulatory

“Recommended Practice”

Asialaw Profiles

Corporate

Leading Practice

Asialaw Profiles

Corporate

"Recommended"

Asialaw Profiles

Financial Services Regulatory

Leading Practice

Asialaw Profiles

Financial Services Regulatory

Outstanding Practice

Asialaw Profiles

Financial Services Regulatory

Market Leading Lawyer

Asialaw Profiles

Financial Services Regulatory

Leading Lawyer

 

Insights

Read Article>