香港证监会的调查与起诉

概览

我们就香港证监会调查、起诉与执行案件向客户提供一流的法律意见。我们的香港证监会调查与起诉业务是我们金融服务监管业务的重要组成部分。一直以来,我们的金融服务监管业务被包括《国际金融法律评论》(IFLR1000)、The Legal 500、钱伯斯 (Chambers and Partners)、《亚洲法律概况》 (Asialaw Profiles) 在内的多家国际法律评级机构评定为一流推荐业务。我们的律师也一贯被形容为该领域的“领军人物”以及“被高度评价的律师”。

我们经常为卷入香港证监会执法行动的客户提供法律咨询服务,涉及香港证监会下的持牌机构、持牌代表人、机构负责人、核心职能主管及持牌机构的非持牌执行官。我们的客户来源广泛,包括对冲基金经理、私募基金发起人、单位信托与共同基金经理、经纪机构、财富经理、独立财务顾问、银行以及企业融资发起人与融资顾问。

我们曾经处理的案件涉及:

  • 《证券及期货条例》第179条下证监会对上市公司的调查

  • 《证券及期货条例》第182条下证监会对持牌机构、注册机构、持牌代表人、机构负责人以及在香港金融管理局注册的个人的调查

  • 《证券及期货条例》第194条与196条下证监会在香港市场失当行为审裁处 发起的法律程序与在香港裁判法院发起的刑事诉讼,以及针对证监会执行案件在香港证券及期货事务上诉审裁处的上诉

我们的业务范围涵盖:

  • 代表面临证监会调查威胁的客户、证监会调查通知中列明的“正在被调查”的客户与“正在协助调查”的客户,以及收到拟采取纪律处分通知或传票的客户

  • 就如何应对证监会调查提供法律咨询服务,包括帮助客户理解他们的法律权利与证监会调查的程序

  • 协助客户回应证监会调查通知(例如提供文件与作出书面回答的通知)并为与证监会的面谈作准备

  • 协助客户了解证监会质询及索要信息请求所涉及的监管问题,并作出适当回应以避免或降低被证监会起诉或 发起市场失当行为审裁处法律程序的风险

  • 与客户(例如客户的合规官与内部法律顾问)密切合作,从而发现潜在的违规行为。我们审视的法规包括《证券及期货条例》及其附属条例,以及证监会不时发布的守则、指引及通函(例如《证监会持牌人或注册人操守准则》《基金经理操守准则》《企业融资顾问操守准则》《打击洗钱及恐怖分子资金筹集指引》《证监会持牌人或注册人的管理、监督及内部监控指引》

  • 就当前证监会监管执行的趋势及证监会发出的纪律处分向客户提供法律意见

  • 参加证监会与客户的面谈,回应证监会质询及索要文件的请求,并准备书面回答

我们在这一领域的经验广泛。我们的经验涵盖涉嫌违反以下监管要求:

  • 因违反“适当人选”规定而触发的《证券及期货条例》第194条与196条下证监会的纪律处分

  • 《证券及期货条例》第270条、274条至278条、291条、295条至299条下的市场失当行为,即内幕交易、虚假交易、操纵价格、披露关于受禁交易的资料、披露虚假或具误导性的信息以诱使进行交易与操纵证券市场的行为

  • 《证券及期货条例》第300条下的反欺诈条款,该条款将在证券、期货合约或杠杆式外汇交易方面使用欺诈或欺骗手段的行为定为犯罪

  • 《证券及期货条例》第XIVA部有关披露内幕消息的法律责任

  • 《证券及期货条例》第XV部有关权益披露的规定(包括董事披露与主要股东披露)

  • 有关淡仓的披露要求及文件保证要求

  • 无牌照经营受规管活动

  • 未经授权的投资要约

  • 禁止裸卖空

  • 不当销售

  • 违反香港联交所垄断

  • 违反期货市场的法定认可要求

  • 违反《证监会持牌人或注册人操守准则》与其它准则及指引中的规定,包括内部监控或风险管理方面的缺陷或不足

受益于我们对商业环境与监管框架的深刻理解,我们得以提出创新性的解决方案,发现重要证据,并就证监会指控提出合理质疑,从而为客户提供有效的法律辩护。

常见问题解答

为了帮助外界进一步了解我们在香港证监会调查中为客户提供的帮助,我们列出以下常见的客户咨询及解答。

证监会可以根据《证券及期货条例》第183条或第179条的规定发出调查通知书。这部分条款赋予证监会调查人员某些权力,例如根据第183条规定所发出的通知书可以要求相关人员参加与证监会的面谈、回答问题、提供文件与书面回答或为证监会调查提供合理协助。

我们在证监会调查权限的问题上拥有丰富执业经验。我们可以帮助客户了解证监会提出的要求是否超越其管辖权,以及如何管理调查的时间线与文件流。我们还可以帮助客户分析提交给证监会的书面回答中是否存在可能入罪的因素以及如何行使不得自证其罪的特权。

根据《证券及期货条例》第378条的规定,每份调查通知书都附有法定的保密义务,因此您不得向他人透露有关调查的任何信息。但是,您可以在不违反这些保密义务的前提下咨询律师。

如果您的机构正在接受调查,我们可以就如何处理机构内部员工之间的信息披露以符合法定保密义务,以及如何保护与分支机构和员工的信息和通讯不被披露提供建议(例如通过主张法律专业保密权与共同利益特权)。

如果您个人正在接受调查(例如您收到了第183条下的调查通知书),我们会就可披露调查信息的人员以及可披露的调查信息为您提供法律意见。

我们在证监会调查的保险赔偿问题上拥有丰富经验。我们可以协助客户了解其是否可以获得董事与行政人员责任保险或专业责任保险(又被称为专门职业责任保险或专门职业服务保险)的赔偿。我们可以协助客户向相关保险公司索赔,与保险公司协商保险条款,并就如何在索赔过程中遵守法定保密义务提供法律意见。

奖项

钱伯斯法律评级机构 (Chambers and Partners)

金融服务业监管

“一流业务 ”

钱伯斯法律评级机构 (Chambers and Partners)

金融服务业监管

“杰出个人”

钱伯斯法律评级机构 (Chambers and Partners)

金融服务业监管

“杰出律师”

钱伯斯法律评级机构 (Chambers and Partners)

金融服务业监管

“被认可律师”

《国际金融法律评论》(IFLR1000)

金融服务业监管

“积极评价”

《国际金融法律评论》(IFLR1000)

金融服务业监管

“被认可律师”

Legal 500

金融服务业监管

“杰出个人”

Legal 500

金融服务业监管

“推荐业务”

《亚洲法律概况》 (Asialaw Profiles)

金融服务业监管

“一流业务”

《亚洲法律概况》 (Asialaw Profiles)

金融服务业监管

“杰出业务 ”

《亚洲法律概况》 (Asialaw Profiles)

金融服务业监管

“领军人物 ”

《亚洲法律概况》 (Asialaw Profiles)

金融服务业监管

“杰出律师 ”

 

法律研究

Read Article>
Read Article>
Read Article>

SFC Investigations & Prosecution

Overview

We have market leading expertise representing clients in SFC investigations, prosecutions and other enforcement action. Our SFC Investigations and Prosecutions practice is part of our Financial Services Regulatory offering, for which we have been consistently recognized as an outstanding, leading and recommended practice by independent editorial publications, including the International Financial Law Review 1000 (ILFR1000), the Legal 500, Chambers and Partners and Asialaw Profiles, and for which our lawyers have been consistently recognized as “leading”, “highly regarded”, “well regarded” and “market-leading” lawyers.

We routinely advise clients who are the persons of interest in SFC actions, including SFC licensed corporations, licensed representatives, responsible officers (“ROs”), managers-in charge (“MICs”) and executives of SFC licensed firms who are themselves not licensed by the SFC. We have acted for a wide range of clients, including hedge fund managers, private equity sponsors, managers of units trusts and mutual funds, brokerage firms, wealth managers, independent financial advisers, banks and corporate finance sponsors and advisers.

Matters which we have handled include:

  • SFC investigations under section 179 of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (“SFO”) in relation to listed companies

  • SFC investigations under section 182 of the SFO in relation to SFC licensed corporations, registered institutions, licensed representatives, responsible officers and relevant individuals registered with the Hong Kong Monetary Authority (“HKMA”)

  • SFC disciplinary proceedings under sections 194 and 196 of the SFO, proceedings before the Market Misconduct Tribunal (“MMT”), criminal prosecutions before the magistrate courts, as well as appeal proceedings from SFC enforcement action to the courts and to the Securities and Futures Appeals Tribunal ("SFAT"

Our work includes:

  • representing clients who are under threat of an SFC investigation, who have been identified as “a person under investigation” or “a person assisting investigation” in an SFC investigation notice, or who have received a notice of proposed disciplinary action or a summons

  • advising clients on how to handle an SFC investigation, including helping clients understand their rights and the SFC investigation process

  • assisting clients in preparing for an SFC interview and responding to an SFC investigation notice, including a notice to produce documents and answer written questions

  • helping clients understand the regulatory concerns underlying specific SFC enquiries or requests for information, and preparing responses to pre-empt or mitigate any risk of SFC prosecution or the institution of MMT proceedings

  • working with clients (including their compliance officers and in-house counsel) to identify potential regulatory compliance breaches, including non-compliance with the Securities and Futures Ordinance (“SFO”) and subsidiary legislation, the SFC’s codes, guidelines and circulars, including the Code of Conduct for Persons Licensed by or Registered with the SFC (“SFC Code of Conduct”), the Fund Manager Code of Conduct (“FMCC”), the Corporate Finance Adviser Code of Conduct (“CFA Code”), the Management, Supervision and Internal Control Guidelines (“Internal Control Guidelines”) and the Guideline on Anti-money Laundering and Counter-Financing of Terrorism (For Licensed Corporations) (“AML Guideline”)

  • advising clients on current SFC enforcement trends and disciplinary actions

  • attending SFC interviews with clients and preparing written responses to SFC’s enquiries or requests to produce documents and answer written questions

Our experience covers a broad spectrum of issues, including alleged or suspected breaches of:

  • the “fit and proper” requirements triggering SFC disciplinary action under sections 194 and 196 of the SFO

  • market misconduct under sections 270, 274 to 278 and 291, 295 to 299 of the SFO, including insider dealing, false trading, price rigging, disclosure of information about prohibited transactions, disclosure of false or misleading information inducing transactions and stock market manipulation

  • anti-fraud provisions under section 300 of the SFO which criminalises the act of employing fraudulent or deceptive devices or engaging in fraudulent or deceptive practices in transactions involving securities, futures contracts or leveraged foreign exchange trading

  • the statutory duty to disclose inside information under Part 14A of the SFO

  • disclosure of interests requirements under Part 15 of the SFO, whether director disclosures or substantial shareholder disclosures

  • short position reporting requirements and documentary assurance requirements

  • unlicensed regulated activities

  • unauthorized investment offers

  • the naked short selling prohibition

  • mis-selling

  • breaches of the Hong Kong Stock Exchange ("HKSE") monopoly

  • breaches of statutory recognition requirements for futures markets

  • breaches of the requirements set out in the SFC Code of Conduct and other codes and guidelines, including deficiencies or inadequacies in internal controls or risk management

We have a strong track record of devising innovative solutions to difficult situations and leverage our substantial understanding of the commercial context and the regulatory framework to identify important evidence and lines of enquiry to create defensive lines.

Q&A

To find out more about how we can assist during an SFC investigation, we set out below a list of common enquiries we receive from clients and our approach to addressing these enquiries as follows.

SFC investigation notices are issued by the SFC under section 183 or section 179 of the SFO. These sections give SFC investigators certain powers. A notice issued under s. 183 may, for example, require you to attend an SFC interview and answer questions, to produce documents and answer written questions or to provide all reasonable assistance to SFC investigators.

We have extensive experience advising clients on the scope of the SFC’s investigation powers. We can advise you on whether the SFC’s requests are within their jurisdiction, how to manage the timeline for an SFC investigation and how to manage the flow of information to the SFC. We can help you identify whether there is any risk that your answers to the SFC’s questions may incriminate you and how to exercise you privilege against self-incrimination.

Each investigation notice is subject to statutory secrecy obligations under the section 378 of the SFO. This section prohibits you from disclosing to anyone anything about the investigation. However, you may consult a lawyer about the investigation without breaching these secrecy obligations.

In cases where your firm is under investigation, we can advise on how to handle the disclosure of information between members of the firm to comply with statutory secrecy requirements and how to protect information and communications with affiliates and staff from being disclosed, such as by maintaining legal professional privilege and common interest privilege.

In cases where you are personally under investigation, such as when you have received a section 183 notice under a section 182 investigation, we can advise on the persons to whom you can disclose information about the investigation and on what information you can disclose.

We have extensive experience dealing with indemnity coverage issues in the context of an SFC investigation. We can assist with understanding whether you may be entitled to indemnity insurance, whether under a D&O Insurance policy or a professional indemnity insurance (also known as professional liability insurance or professional services insurance) policy. We can assist with taking steps necessary to claim entitlement under applicable insurance coverage. We can advise you on complying with statutory secrecy obligations in making a claim for insurance coverage and negotiate terms of coverage with the insurer.

Awards

Chambers and Partners

Financial Services Regulatory

Leading Practice

Chambers and Partners

Financial Services Regulatory

Leading Individual

Chambers and Partners

Financial Services Regulatory

Leading Lawyer

Chambers and Partners

Financial Services Regulatory

Well Regarded Lawyer

IFLR 1000

Financial Services Regulatory

"Positively Ranked"

IFLR 1000

Financial Services Regulatory

Highly Regarded Lawyer

Legal 500

Financial Services Regulatory

Leading Individual

Legal 500

Financial Services Regulatory

“Recommended Practice”

Asialaw Profiles

Financial Services Regulatory

Leading Practice

Asialaw Profiles

Financial Services Regulatory

Outstanding Practice

Asialaw Profiles

Financial Services Regulatory

Market Leading Lawyer

Asialaw Profiles

Financial Services Regulatory

Leading Lawyer