税务

概览

我们是香港少数几家可以为私人投资基金提供税务法律意见的律师事务所之一。我们的税务业务是我们已被广泛认可的对冲基金私募基金 共同基金业务的重要补充。

我们就香港税法制度与税务规划提供的法律意见获得了对冲基金经理,私募股基金发起人,财富经理以及独立财务顾问的一致信赖。

作为一家律师事务所,我们的税务意见因受到法律专业保密权的保护而不被披露,这意味着香港税务局或其它机构无权迫使我们披露与客户之间的通信以及我们提供的法律意见。因此,客户透露给我们的信息,无论是否敏感,都将是保密的。这些信息对于希望了解特定交易结构与安排之动机的税务机构而言,也是不可获得的。

我们的业务范围涵盖:

  • 一般税务规划,包括针对个人、企业及私人投资基金的税务规划、《税务条例》下的香港利得税、薪俸税与物业税、税收减免、以及考虑反避税条款及税基侵蚀与利润转移 (BEPS) 等因素的香港税务规划,以最大程度地实现合理避税

  • 对冲基金税务私募基金税务,包括减轻由管理费、绩效费、附带权益以及投资收益而产生的税收负担,与税收减免条款(例如离岸与在岸私人投资基金的利得税税收豁免条款)

我们一直与香港税务机构保持着密切沟通,曾经就香港私人投资基金利得税豁免的适用范围以及其它《税务条例》下税务豁免的实施细则与税务机构展开讨论。

经历

税务领域助力某世界500强金融机构完成集团重组

法律研究

Read Article>
Read Article>
Read Article>

Tax

Overview

We are one of a few Hong Kong law firms who advise on Hong Kong tax laws with a particular focus on taxation of private funds. Our Tax practice complements our practices in Hedge Funds, Private Equity and Mutual Funds, for which we have been internationally recognized as leading practices by the International Financial Law Review 1000 (IFLR1000), the Legal 500, Chambers and Partners and Asialaw Profiles.

Hedge fund managers, private equity sponsors, wealth managers and independent financial advisers routinely trust us to advise on the Hong Kong tax regime and tax planning opportunities to manage tax liabilities.

As a law firm, our tax advice is protected from disclosure by legal professional privilege, meaning that our clients can be assured that neither the Inland Revenue Department (“IRD”) nor any other authority can compel the disclosure of their communications with us and our advice to them. This means that our clients can rest assured that any information they disclose to us, no matter how sensitive, will remain confidential and unavailable to the IRD or other authorities who may wish to understand the motivations and considerations giving rise to particular structures, activities and arrangements.

Our work includes advising on the following:

  • General tax planning, including Hong Kong tax treatment for individuals, corporations and private funds, potential liabilities for Hong Kong profits tax, salaries tax and property tax under the Inland Revenue Ordinance (“IRO”), the availability of deductions and exemptive relief, and tax planning opportunities to minimize tax liabilities in Hong Kong, taking into account anti-avoidance provisions under the IRO and the common law, base erosion and profit shifting (“BEPS”) measures as well as the administrative framework under the IRO)

  • Taxation of hedge funds and taxation of private equity, including managing Hong Kong tax liabilities arising from management fees, performance fees, carried interest or income from underlying portfolio investments, and applicable tax exemptions, including profits tax exemptions for offshore funds and private funds

We have actively engaged in communications with the IRD and have had discussions with the IRD for the purpose of shaping the scope of the Hong Kong profits tax exemptive relief for private funds and in respect of the IRD’s practices relating to the administration of available exemptions under the IRO.

Experience

Hong Kong counsel to Fortune Global 500 financial institution in connection with tax driven global corporate restructuring

Insights

Read Article>
Read Article>
Read Article>